If a desktop that is set to refresh or delete after log off is reset, the desktop goes into the Already Used state, or possibly the Agent Disabled state.
This security feature prevents any previous session data from being available during the next log in, but leaves the data intact to enable administrators to access the desktop and retrieve lost data or investigate the root cause of the reset. Administrators can then refresh or delete the desktop.
The View desktop can also go into the Already Used state if a virtual machine is powered on in another ESXi host in the cluster in response to an HA event, or if it was shut down without reporting to the broker that the user had logged out.
To resolve this issue, perform a refresh of the desktop using the View Administration console. For more information, see the VMware Horizon View Administration guide relevant to your version.
Alternatively, In View 5.1.2 and later releases, you can add a View LDAP attribute, pae-DirtyVMPolicy under OU=Server Groups, DC=vdi, DC=vmware, DC=int, and set the values below for the attribute.
The pae-DirtyVMPolicy values provide these options for the Refresh on logoff policy:
- pae-DirtyVMPolicy=0: Mark virtual machines that were not cleanly logged off as Already used and block user access to them. This is the default behavior in View 4.6 and later releases.
- pae-DirtyVMPolicy=1: Allow virtual machines that were not cleanly logged off to become available without being refreshed. View Client users can access these desktops.
- pae-DirtyVMPolicy=2: Automatically refresh virtual machines that were not cleanly logged off. View Client users can access these desktops after the refresh operation is completed